Davidstown League Race 2 Results

Novice Race

  1. James O’Reilly Marble City Cyclers *


  1. John Busher Slaney CC
  2. Brian Sugrue SERC
  3. Joe Fortune Slaney CC
  4. Jonathan Russell SERC
  5. Jim Wall Wexford Wheelers
  6. Tom Purcell Gorey CC

* The Novice Race was won in emphatic style by James O’Reilly (Marble City) who broke early and won on his own by over a minute. However James is an A4 who intended riding the main race but unfortunately started in the wrong group. As he will be racing in the correct A4 group from now on we willl exclude him from the novice points. 

A4/Vet Race

  1. Declan Delaney Barrow Wheelers
  2. Mick Walsh Barrow Wheelers
  3. John Canavan SERC
  4. John Halford Gorey CC
  5. Cathal Glacken Gorey CC
  6. Paul Bolger Slaney CC
  7. Brendan Dunne Gorey CC
  8. Fergal Kennedy Marble City Cyclers

52 Riders signed on again this week on a cold and very windy but dry evening. Race speed was 41kph again this week!

Good to see a bigger group in the novice section with 12 riders lining out. Unfortunately James O’Reilly ended up in the wrong race but he rode strongly on his own for most of the three laps and will do well in the A4 group. The rest of the group stayed mostly together and came together to the finish line into a strong headwind with Slaney’s John Busher taking victorty.

The O/50 group was similiar in size this week but with the added strength of Paul Bolger. The firece wind on the outward section made it hard work for everyone and by the bell the only rider left out front was Paul Bolger with a 30second gap. Despite riding bravely into the head wind on his own and then coming in the main road at 50+kms an hour the race came together with the win going for the second week in a row to Declan Delaney from Barrow Wheelers from Mick Walsh & John Canavan. 

Thanks to all drivers, marshals and helpers for keeping the riders safe on the circuit. Thanks to Dave Whitty and Bernie Dempsey/Eddie Dempsey who stood in at short notice with lead cars as I was stuck for drivers and to Mylie Kavanagh who gave up his race to marshal on the last bend. We roll out again for the next three weeks so please come along to support the races by riding or helping out.