Eddie Tobin RR 2016

Slaney CC are delighted to hold our Eddie Tobin Memorial Road Race on Sunday July 3rd 2016. We will also hold youth races on our underage circuit at Davidstown on July 2nd

2016 Information


Saturday Races

  • Saturday Youth Races for U12, U14 and U16. Sign on in Davidstown Hall from 10.30 First Race at 12pm SHARP. Prizes, tea & coffee in hall afterwards.
  • P
  • Race route and directions to Youth races on this Map my ride http://www.mapmyride.com/routes/view/16539027   Davidstown is just off the Enniscorthy-New Ross road about 4 miles outside Enniscorthy.


Sunday Races 

Sunday, July 3rd will see Slaney CC host the 12th edition of the Eddie Tobin Memorial Road Race . The event has provided great racing over the past eight years with some of Irelands top riders taking the honours and good numbers taking part. Eddie was a long time member, rider and administrator of Slaney CC, was a respected member of the FBD Rás team and was heavily involved in the visit of the Tour de France to Enniscorthy in 1998.



Order of races

RACE 1:   Eddie Tobin Memorial Road Race for A1/A2 National Series Round 12 

RACE 2 : The Noel Redmond Memorial Road Race  for A3s 

RACE 3:  A4 Race 

RACE 4: Womens National League Race


This years race will take place on the same course as last year based close to Bunclody, Co Wexford. The rolling 25km lap is very well surfaced and is a challenging circuit including a long drag to the finish (higest point of the race) and some fast sweeping descents. The start/finish is about 6kms from the sign on venue which is at the Bunclody AFC complex on Church Road, Bunclody. (Take turn at Mill Race Hotel – will be sign posted) Bunclody is situtated on the N80, about 20 minutes from both the M9 and M11 Dublin motorways. Plan your route to Bunclody HERE

Race Route

See Race circuit here: http://www.mapmyride.com/routes/view/739921541

Race Details

Race 1:  The Eddie Tobin Memorial Road Race

A1/A2   5 x 26km laps – 130km  (5 x 16mile laps – 80 miles)

Race 2:  The Noel Redmond Memorial Road Race

A3    4 x 26km laps – 104km   (4 x 16mile laps – 64miles)

Race 3:  A4 Road Race 

A4    3 x 26km laps – 78km    (3 x 16mile laps –  48miles)

Race 4:  Round 6 of the Womens National League

Women:    3 x 26km laps – 78km    (3 x 16mile laps –  48miles)


(Distances will be slightly longer as we start race in Bunclody about 6km before finish line /start of lap)


Sign on: from 9.30 00am at the Bunclody AFC Complex, Church Road, Bunclody.

All riders will leave the centre at 10.45 sharp for a neutralised ride to the race start. All riders/team cars MUST keep in to the left hand side of the road until commissiare starts race.

Start: Race 1 will start at 11AM, immediately followed by Race 2, 3 & 4 at  Start is in Bunclody village.

Sign on Fee:  €15 on the day


Race 1 : 1st 8

Race 2 : 1st 8

Race 3 : 1st 8,

Race 4 : 1st 6,

(Depending on numbers prizes may be reduced to 1st 6 or increased to include other classes)

Prize presentation and refreshments will be at the Bunclody AFC Complex (sign on venue) directly after the final race finishes. There will be tea/coffee avaiable and showers available

Further info contact – Race Director Liam Ruth: secretary@slaneycyclingclub.com

Marshalls: All marshalls will be required at the GAA ground for a pre race marshalls meeting at 11.00am where Paddy Dunne will assign positions. Unless you are racing in the event all club members are expected to assist. If you have any friends willing to help bring them along. All marshalls who do not hold a Cyling Ireland Licence must sign on the One Day Licence sheet. It is vitally important that we have a full turnout of club members to ensure the safety of the riders and the public. Text Liam on 087 8334592 to confirm participation.

Roll of honour – Previous Winners


et2005.jpg   et2006.jpg

2005 Ciaran Power                          2006 Morgan Fox


2007 Brian Kenneally


2008 Cathal Redmond


2009 Neil Dalahaye


2010 Conor O’Shea

2011 Aaron Buggle

2012 Mark Dowling

2013 Mark Dowling

2014 Eoin Morton

2015 Bryan McCrystal


Leave a Reply